Uncategorized

Slowing down to keep pace with

Hey, friends. Here we are on almost the last day of July 2023.

Yup, I have some goals for this year and so far some are on track:

  • Relationships as a priority, including God, family, friends, co-workers and new-to-me people
  • Intentionality and being present to the moment as a daily practice
  • Slowing down enough to encounter Jesus as often as possible throughout the day
  • Pursuing creative/life-giving practices weekly
  • Vulnerability and showing up as my true self to the measure that He enables me to do that
  • Saying yes to some things that are outside my comfort zone and that are not necessarily in my skill set
  • Reflection about the events of the day and my responses throughout the day
  • Personal retreat in the spring

Some of the things that I have not successfully pursued as of yet:

  • Quilting – repairing a quilt and sewing a new quilt are on my list
  • Learning to use my new-to-me sewing machine – it’s computerized and has so many amazing features
  • Gardening – my “Charlie Brown” garden is kinda sad. Not sure what happened to some of the seeds, but they did not sprout. I even tried a second replanting and still nothing in those bare spaces. To be fair, I have probably had a return on my investment that matches my investment. I would like to be more knowledgeable and prepared for next year.
  • Hiking and camping combined
  • Frequent visits to a beach
  • North Carolina trip to visit our daughter and her family out there
  • Personal retreat in the fall
  • Blogging more consistently and more often than once a year

In other news:

I have started learning to play Pickleball thanks to some friends from our church. I think I could get to the point where I truly enjoy playing for the fun of it. Time will tell.

Due to lack of clients, I deleted my VA website. I am still available for projects; I’d be happy to discuss the possibility of working with you: https://calendly.com/amydemoss/ .

And yes, the team I am a part of at one of my jobs is STILL working on the project we were assigned almost two years ago. It continues to astound us with its intricacies and complexities. I think the seemingly never ending new scenarios in this project reflect the challenges of being a company that innovates in response to customer requests for products which meet specific needs in the niche. Our team has a BIG goal of being completely finished with this project by the end of 2023. . . And then one of our team members is being pulled into a different team to help until a key position is filled. That’s life.

~still living large, on the Indiana prairie

Leave a comment